About the Working Party

Read the Working Party’s terms of reference.

Download the register of interests for members.

Membership of the Working Party

(Positions held correct at December 2001)

Professor Sir Kenneth Calman (Chairman)

Vice-Chancellor and Warden, University of Durham and Member of Nuffield Council on Bioethics

Dr Fred Binka

Navrongo Health Research Centre and Ghana School of Public Health

Professor Michael Elves

Former Director, Office of Scientific and Educational Affairs, Glaxo Wellcome plc

Professor V I Mathan

Division Director for Laboratory Sciences Division, International Centre for Diarrhoeal Disease Research, Dhaka

Professor Keith McAdam

Director, MRC Laboratories, Fajara, The Gambia

Dr Anne McLaren

Wellcome/CRC Institute, Cambridge

Professor Bhikhu Parekh

Professor of Political Theory, University of Hull

Professor David Parkin

Professor of Social Anthropology, All Souls College, Oxford

Professor Catherine Peckham CBE

Professor of Epidemiology, Institute of Child Health, University College London and member of Nuffield Council on Bioethics

Professor Povl Riis

Copenhagan Ministry of Science

Professor Nelson Sewankambo

Dean, Faculty of Medicine, Makerere University, Kampala, Uganda

Mrs Shahwar Sadeque

Educational & ICT Consultant

Professor Peter Smith

Head of Department of Infectious and Tropical Diseases, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine

Dr Fabio Zicker

Coordinator, Research Capacity Strengthening and Tropical Diseases Research Programme, World Health Organization

Previous work

Contact us

Nuffield Council on Bioethics
28 Bedford Square
London, WC1B 3JS

Tel: +44 (0)20 7681 9619

General enquiries:

Press enquiries:

Sign up for e-news


Explore by topic