About the Working Party

Read the Working Party’s terms of reference.

Download the register of interests for members.

Membership of the Working Party

(Positions held correct at September 2003)

Professor Peter Lipton (Chair) (deceased)

Head of Department of History and Philosophy of Science, University of Cambridge

Professor Haleh Afshar

Department of Politics, University of York

Professor Martin Bobrow

Head of Department of Medical Genetics, University of Cambridge and Deputy Chairman of the Nuffield Council on Bioethics

Professor John Caldwell

Dean, Faculty of Medicine, University of Liverpool

Professor Klaus Lindpaintner

VP Research Director, Roche Genetics, Switzerland

Professor Sir Michael Rawlins

Chairman, National Institute for Clinical Excellence and Professor of Clinical Pharmacology at the University of Newcastle

Professor Nikolas Rose

Professor of Sociology, London School of Economics and Political Science

Dr Nigel Starey

Director, Centre for Primary Care, University of Derby

Professor Albert Weale

Professor of Government, University of Essex and Member of the Nuffield Council on Bioethics

Previous work

Contact us

Nuffield Council on Bioethics
28 Bedford Square
London, WC1B 3JS

Tel: +44 (0)20 7681 9619

General enquiries:

Press enquiries:

Sign up for e-news


Explore by topic