About the Working Party

Read the Working Party’s terms of reference

Download the register of interests for the Working Party

Membership of the Working Party

(Positions held correct at October 2010)

Professor Christopher Hood FBA (Chair)


Gladstone Professor of Government and Fellow, All Souls College, University of Oxford and Director, ESRC Public Services Research Programme

Professor Kay-Tee Khaw CBE FRCP

Professor of Clinical Gerontology, University of Cambridge School of Clinical Medicine, Addenbrooke’s Hospital

Dr Kathleen Liddell

Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Law, University of Cambridge

Professor Susan Mendus FBA

Professor of Political Philosophy, University of York

Professor Nikolas Rose

Martin White Professor of Sociology, BIOS Centre for the Study of Bioscience, London School of Economics and Political Science

Professor Peter C Smith

Professor of Health Policy, Imperial College Business School, London

Professor Sir John Sulston FRS

Chair, Institute of Science, Ethics and Innovation, University of Manchester

Professor Jonathan Wolff

Professor of Philosophy, University College London

Professor Richard Wootton

Director of Research, Norwegian Centre for Telemedicine and Integrated Care, Tromsø, Norway

Previous work

Contact us

Nuffield Council on Bioethics
28 Bedford Square
London, WC1B 3JS

Tel: +44 (0)20 7681 9619

General enquiries:

Press enquiries:

Sign up for e-news


Explore by topic