About the Working Party

Read the Working Party’s terms of reference

Membership of the Working Party

(Positions held correct at January 1998)

Professor Alan Ryan (Chairman)

Warden of New College, University of Oxford

Professor Derek Burke CBE

Former Vice Chancellor of the University of East Anglia and was Chairman of the Advisory Committee for Novel Foods and Processes (1988–97)

Professor Mike Gale FRS

Director, The John Innes Centre, Norwich

Professor Brian Heap CBE FRS

Master of St Edmund’s College, University of Cambridge, Foreign Secretary of the Royal Society and a member of the Nuffield Council on Bioethics

Miss Prue Leith OBE

Vice President of the Royal Society of Arts

Ms Julie Hill

Programme Adviser to the Green Alliance, an environmental charity and is a member of ACRE (Advisory Committee on Releases to the Environment) until June 1999

Professor Steve Hughes

Unilever Research Professor at the Department of Biological Sciences, University of Exeter

Professor Michael Lipton

Poverty Research Unit, University of Sussex

Mr Derek Osborn CB

Chairman of the UK Round Table on Sustainable Development, Chairman of the European Environment Agency, Chairman of UNED/UK, and a member of the Nuffield Council on Bioethics

Previous work

Contact us

Nuffield Council on Bioethics
28 Bedford Square
London, WC1B 3JS

Tel: +44 (0)20 7681 9619

General enquiries:

Press enquiries:

Sign up for e-news


Explore by topic