About the working group


Membership of the working group

Download the register of interests for members.

Andy Greenfield (Chair)


Council member, Programme Leader in Developmental Genetics at the Medical Research Council’s research unit in Harwell, and a member of the Human Fertilisation and Embryology Authority (HFEA)

Tony Perry

Reader, Laboratory of Mammalian Molecular Embryology, Department of Biology and Biochemistry, University of Bath

Christine Watson

Council member, Professor of Cell and Cancer Biology in the Department of Pathology, University of Cambridge and Vice-Principal of Newnham College

David Lawrence

Council member, Non-Executive Director at Syngenta AG, Chair of the Syngenta Science & Technology Advisory Board, and a member of the Biotechnology & Biological Science Research Council

Charis Thompson

Professor of Sociology, London School of Economics and Political Science

John Dupré

Professor of Philosophy of Science, Exeter University and Director of Egenis, the Centre for the Study of Life Sciences

Richard Ashcroft

Professor of Bioethics, Department of Law, Queen Mary University of London and Co-Director of the Centre for the Study of Incentives in Health

Karen Yeung

Professor of Law and Director of the Centre for Technology, Ethics & Law in Society (TELOS), King’s College London

Previous work

Contact us

Nuffield Council on Bioethics
28 Bedford Square
London, WC1B 3JS

Tel: +44 (0)20 7681 9619

General enquiries:

Press enquiries:

Sign up for e-news


Explore by topic