Donation consultation responses

The Nuffield Council on Bioethics has decided that, where possible, it will post consultation responses on its website. The Working Party has found the replies extremely useful and has considered all the responses.

In the spirit of openness, the Council has made available these submissions to the wider public. (Only the submissions of those respondents who have given their consent have been made available).


Anonymous 1

Anonymous 2

Anonymous 3

Anonymous 4

Anonymous 5

Anonymous 6

Anonymous 7

Anonymous 8

Anonymous 9

Anonymous 10

Anonymous 11

Anonymous 12

Anonymous 13

Anonymous 14

Anonymous 15

Anonymous 16

Anonymous 17

Anonymous 18

Anonymous 19

Anonymous 20

Anonymous 21

Anonymous 22

Anonymous 23

Anonymous 24

Anonymous 25

Anonymous 26

Anonymous 27

Anonymous 28

Anonymous 29

Anonymous 30



A. C. Palmer

Aaron Long

Alex Nolan

Alex Smith

Amanda Wilson

Andrew Burrow

Anne Oberon

Attendees of Ethics Forum at University Hospitals Birmingham, organised by Greg Moorlock

Betty Perry

Brian Dale

Celia Roberts and Karen Throsby

Charles Warlow

Chris Briscoe

Councillor John Meikle MBE

David Gollancz

David H Howard, Associate Professor, Department of Health Policy and Management, Emory University

David Thewlis and Stuart Taylor

David W.Evans

Dewi Hopkins

Dr David J Hill

Dr Gill Haddow

Dr Howaida Ebead

Dr Ian Jessiman

Dr J Reeve

Dr Lindsay Stirton and Jurgen De Wispelaere

Dr Maryon McDonald

Dr Miran Epstein

Dr Muireann Quigley

Dr Paul M. Rea

Dr Petra Nordqvist, University of Manchester

Dr Rachel Ariss

Dr Ray Abrahams

Dr Richard Turner

Graham Brushett

Graham Driver

Grant Mackie

Haris E. Cazlaris, PhD

Harry Burton

Heather Widdows and Sean Cordell

James Westerman

Jayne Doran

Jean-Paul Pirnay, Laboratory for Molecular and Cellular Technology, Military Hospital, Brussels

Jeff McILwain MD FRCS

John Champion, Chair SCKPA

John Garfield

John Miller, Glasgow

Jonathan Lee

Jonathan Lepper

Jonathan Smith of Moseleys, solicitors of Lichfield

Joseph L. Verheijde PhD, Mayo Clinic in Arizona

Judith Rowley

Karen Dyer, Lecturer in Law, University of Buckingham

Karen Dyer

Lorna Weir, Professor of Sociology and Health, York University, Toronto, Canada

Marcia C. Inhorn

Mario Abbud-Filho, Medical School FAMERP S.J. Rio Preto

Mark O’Sullivan

Marlene Rose

Michael Fulton

Miriam Pryke

Miss E. J. Toogood

Miss N. Sethi, AHRC SCRIPT Centre, School of Law, University of Edinburgh

Mr G Smith

Mr Mark Kennett

Mrs Kay Mason

Mrs Lucy Cheek

Pat Spallone

Patricia Stoat, Convenor, Health and Bioethics Committee, National Board of Catholic Women

Phil Harding

Professor Arthur Matas, Department of Surgery, University of Minnesota

Professor Charis Thompson

Professor Dr Jayapaul Azariah

Professor Gabriel Danovitch

Professor Peter Furness

Professor R. Anderson FRCOG, Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists

Professor Robert Rubens

R. C. Whiting

Richard Mountford

Rob Warwick

Rory Holburn

Rosanna McArdle

Sally Satel

Shawn H. E. Harmon

Simon Woods, Jackie Leach Scully, Pauline McCormack, and Ilke Turkmendag of the Policy Ethics and Life Sciences Research Centre

Stephen Morris

Stephen Wilkinson, Professor of Bioethics, Keele University

Sue Rabbitt Roff

Sylwia Maria Olejarz

Thomas Dillon

Zeynep Gurtin-Broadbent



Academy of Medical Royal Colleges and Faculties in Scotland

British Fertility Society

British Heart Foundation

British Medical Association


Centre for Family Research, University of Cambridge

Christian Medical Fellowship

Church of England – Mission and Public Affairs Council

Declaration of Istanbul Custodian Group

Donor Family Network

European Society for Organ Transplantation Council

Faculty of Pharmaceutical Medicine of the Royal Colleges of Physicians of the United Kingdom

HEAL (Health Ethics and Law), University of Southampton

Human Tissue Authority

Human Tissues Working Party

Infertility Network (Canada)

International Donor Offspring Alliance

Kidney Research UK

Liberal Judaism

MRC Centre for Transplantation, King’s College London, NIHR Biomedical Research Centre at Guy’s and St. Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust and King’s College London – Transplant Theme

National Gamete Donation Trust

National Research Ethics Advisors’ Panel (NREAP)

Patient Concern

PHG Foundation

PROGAR (British Association of Social Workers Project Group on Assisted Reproduction)

Progress Educational Trust

Royal Brompton & Harefield NHS Foundation Trust

Royal College of General Practitioners

Royal College of Pathologists Lay Advisory Committee

Royal College of Pathologists

Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh

Royal College of Physicians

The Anscombe Bioethics Centre, Oxford

The British Psychological Society

The British Transplantation Society

The HeLEX Centre, University of Oxford

The Lewis Prior Foundation

The Medical Research Council

UK Donation Ethics Committee (UKDEC)

University Hospitals of Coventry and Warwickshire Clinical Ethics Committee

University of Leicester Medical School – group 1

University of Leicester Medical School – group 3

University of Leicester Medical School – group 8

University of Leicester Medical School – group 11

University of Leicester Medical School – group 13

University of Leicester Medical School – group 14

University of Leicester Medical School – group 15

University of Leicester Medical School – group 21

University of Leicester Medical School – group 22

University of Leicester Medical School – group 24

Wellcome Trust

Previous work

Contact us

Nuffield Council on Bioethics
28 Bedford Square
London, WC1B 3JS

Tel: +44 (0)20 7681 9619

General enquiries:

Press enquiries:

Sign up for e-news


Explore by topic