About the Working Party

Read the Working Party’s terms of reference

Download the register of interests for members

Membership of the Working Party

(Positions held correct at October 2009)

Professor Tony Hope (Chair)

Tony Hope for web

Professor of Medical Ethics, University of Oxford

Professor Janet Askham (deceased, 2008)

Director of Research, Picker Institute

Mary Baker MBE

President, European Federation of Neurological Associations

Harry Cayton

Chief executive of the Council for Healthcare Regulatory Excellence, former National Director for Patients and the Public at the Department of Health and former Chief Executive of the Alzheimer’s Society

Chris Chaloner

Previously Ethics Advisor, Royal College of Nursing

Dr Jim Eccles

Consultant Physician, The Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Professor Julian Hughes

Consultant in Old Age Psychiatry and Honorary Professor of the Philosophy of Ageing, Northumbria Healthcare NHS Trust and Institute for Ageing and Health, Newcastle University

Dr Rhona Knight

General Practitioner and Council member

Dr Gemma Jones

Neuropsychologist and nurse working with people with Alzheimer’s and their carers

Dr John McMillan

Associate Professor, School of Medicine, Flinders University, Australia

Professor Jill Peay

Professor of Law, London School of Economics

Professor Hugh Perry

Professor of Experimental Neuropathology, University of Southampton & Council member

Professor Ruud Ter Meulen

Professor of Ethics in Medicine, University of Bristol

Dr David Wilkinson

Consultant in Old Age Psychiatry, Moorgreen and Western Community Hospitals, Southampton

Previous work

Contact us

Nuffield Council on Bioethics
28 Bedford Square
London, WC1B 3JS

Tel: +44 (0)20 7681 9619

General enquiries:

Press enquiries:

Sign up for e-news


Explore by topic