Consultation responses

The Nuffield Council on Bioethics has decided that, where possible, it will post consultation responses on its website. The Working Party has found the replies extremely useful and has considered all the responses. In the spirit of openness, the Council has made available these submissions to the wider public. They are to be found by following the links below. (Only the submissions of those respondents who have given their consent have been made available, hence there are some gaps in the numbering of the anonymous responses).


Anonymous 1
Anonymous 2
Anonymous 3
Anonymous 4
Anonymous 5
Anonymous 6
Anonymous 7
Anonymous 9
Anonymous 10
Anonymous 11
Anonymous 13
Anonymous 15
Anonymous 19
Anonymous 20
Anonymous 21
Anonymous 22
Anonymous 23
Anonymous 24
Anonymous 26
Anonymous 27
Anonymous 28
Anonymous 29
Anonymous 30


Stuart Andrews, UK
Gaynor Armitage, UK
Professor Michael Balls, FRAME Trustees Chairman, UK
Professor Vera Baumans- Utrecht University, the Netherlands
Dr Eva Berriman, Australia
Dr Nikola Biller-Andorno, Switzerland
Professor Julian Blow, UK
John Card, Australia
Mr Tony Cooke, UK
Mrs Heather Cox, UK
Dr James Crissman
Mr Paul Dove, UK
Ms Paula Dyer, UK
Phillip Duckworth, Abolish Animal Research, UK
Gareth Edwards, National Animal Sanctuary Alliance, UK
Mrs Tabitha Evans, UK
Mr Alan Fairhurst, Wistaston Cat Refuge, UK
Ms Linda Freston, UK
Mr Francis H Giles
Suzie Green, UK
Caro Hall, UK
Claire Hardman & Tom Schoeffler, Australia
Dr Nancy Harrison MD, USA
Mr Simon Hartley, UK
Mr K Hill, UK
Cris Iles-Wright, UK
Andrew Patrick Kirk, UK
Lynda Korimboccus, UK
L Lougheed, UK
Mr Derek S Paton, Dundee Animal Rights, UK
Dr Katherine Perlo- Dundee Animal Rights, UK
Vivien Pomfrey, UK
Dr Pandora Pound, University of Bristol, UK
Mrs Diana Pullin RGN- HIV Field
Rosamund Raha, UK
Professor Tom Regan, North Carolina State University, USA
Professor David B. Resnik, East Carolina University, USA
Dr RM Ridley and Dr HF Baker, UK
Wendy Rooke, UK
Neil Rothwell, Royal Scottish National Hospital, UK
Roger Scruton, UK
Mr Philip Senior, UK
Lord Soulsby, UK
Mrs Patricia Townsend, UK
Dr Richard Twine, Lancaster University, UK
Ms Carole Waite, UK
Ms Jenny Williams, Australia
Dr Flavia Zucco, Italy


Animal Aid
Association of the British Pharmaceutical Industry (ABPI)
Association of Medical Research Charities (AMRC), UK
AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals, UK
Biosciences Federation, UK
Biotechnology and Biosciences Research Council, UK
Board of Deputies of British Jews
The Boyd Group, UK
British Society of Animal Science
British Psychological Society
Bromley Local Research Ethics Committee, UK
Canadians for Health Research
Royal College of Physicians of London
Covance Laboratories and British Toxicology Society, UK
Debate in Bristol
The Dr Hadwen Trust for Humane Research, UK
European Fed. of Pharmaceutical Industries and Associations
Europeans for Medical Advancement
Genetic Interest Group, UK
GeneWatch UK
Hellenic National Bioethics Commission, Greece
Henderson Global Investors, UK
Humane Research Trust, UK
Humane Slaughter Association, UK
Humane Society of the United States
Institute of Animal Technology, UK
International Primate Protection League, UK
Laboratory Animal Science Association, UK
Laboratory Animals Veterinary Association (LAVA), UK
Medical Research Council, UK
Naturewatch, UK
Office of the Chief Rabbi, UK
Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals, UK
Royal Society, UK
S.A.B.R.E., UK
Uncaged Campaigns, UK
Universities Federation for Animal Welfare, UK
Wakefield Research Ethics Committee, UK
Wellcome Trust, UK

Previous work

Contact us

Nuffield Council on Bioethics
28 Bedford Square
London, WC1B 3JS

Tel: +44 (0)20 7681 9619

General enquiries:

Press enquiries:

Sign up for e-news


Explore by topic